People

CLACS Affiliated Faculty


A
| B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


 

 

Ann Abbott

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: arabbott@illinois.edu

Dolores Albarracín

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: dalbarra@illinois.edu

Brian F. Allan

Department: Entomology
E-mail: ballan@illinois.edu
Research topics: Consequences of environmental change for human health
Research keywords: Ecology, Entomology, Sustainability

Flavia C. Andrade

Department: Kinesiology & Community Health
E-mail: fandrade@illinois.edu

Juan E. Andrade

Department: Food Science & Human Nutrition
E-mail: jandrade@illinois.edu
Research topics: Developing technologies to improve nutrition in low-income settings, especially among vulnerable groups.
Research keywords: Malnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, diagnostics, food science and technology

Mary P. Arends-Kuenning

Department: Agr & Consumer Economics
E-mail: marends@illinois.edu

William E. Artz

Department: Food Science & Human Nutrition
E-mail: wartz@illinois.edu

Eurydice Bauer

Department: Curriculum & Instruction
E-mail: ebbauer@illinois.edu
Research topics: Bilingual and Biliteracy research
Research keywords: Bilinguals, Biliteracy, Education

Venera Bekteshi

Department: Social Work
E-mail: venerab@illinois.edu
Research keywords: Breast Cancer, Immigrants

Susanne Belovari

Department: University Archives
E-mail: belovari@illinois.edu
Research topics: Archival history, culinary history, Holocaust restitution, history of anthropology among others

Nancy Benson

Department: Journalism
E-mail: nbenson@illinois.edu

Curtis Blaylock

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: blaylock@illinois.edu

Merle L. Bowen

Department: Political Science
E-mail: bowen@illinois.edu

Jake Bowers

Department: Political Science
E-mail: jwbowers@illinois.edu

Melissa A. Bowles

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: bowlesm@illinois.edu

Francis A. Boyle

Department: Law
E-mail: fboyle@illinois.edu

Jeffrey Brawn

Department: Natural Resoc and Envir Sciences
E-mail: jbrawn@illinois.edu

Claudia Brosseder

Department: History
E-mail: cbrossed@illinois.edu
Research topics: Paradigms of the native Andean world in colonial timescross-cultural encounters
Research keywords: Andes; indigenous history; intellectual history of Peru

Adrian Burgos

Department: History
E-mail: burgosjr@illinois.edu

Damarys J. Canache

Department: Political Science
E-mail: dcanache@illinois.edu
Research topics: Political Behavior; Political psychology
Research keywords: Political Behavior; political culture; public opinion

Paula Carns

Department: Literature and Languages Library
E-mail: pcarns@illinois.edu

Anita Chan

Department: Media and Cinema Studies 
E-mail: achan@illinois.edu

Karen Chapman-Novakofski

Department: Nutritional Sciences
E-mail: kmc@illinois.edu
Research topics: Community nutrition; diabetes management; technology in health education
Research keywords: Community nutrition; diabetes management; technology in health education

Jose Antonio Cheibub

Department: Political Science
E-mail: cheibub@illinois.edu

Wojtek J. Chodzko-Zajko

Department: Kinesiology
E-mail: wojtek@illinois.edu

Clara Chu

Department: Mortenson Center for International Library Programs
E-mail: cmchu@illinois.edu

Amanda Ciafone

Department: Media and Cinema Studies 
E-mail: aciafone@illinois.edu

Dov Cohen

Department: Psychology
E-mail: dovcohen@illinois.edu

George Czapar

Department: Extension
E-mail: gfc@illinois.edu

Xinyuan Dai

Department: Political Science
E-mail: xdai@illinois.edu

James W. Dalling

Department: Plant Biology
E-mail: dalling@illinois.edu

Jerry Dávila

Department: History, Lemann Institute
E-mail: jdavila@illinois.edu
Research topics: Latin America, Brazil, Race Relations, Social Movements, Public Policy
Research keywords: Race Relations, Public Policy, Social Movements

Liv Thorstensson Dávila

Department: Curriculum and Instruction
E-mail: livtd@illinois.edu

Brian Deal

Department: Urban & Regional Planning
E-mail: deal@illinois.edu

Carl Deal

Department: Library
E-mail: c-deal@illinois.edu

Lynne Dearborn

Department: Architecture
E-mail: dearborn@illinois.edu

Luisa-Elena Delgado

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: ldelgado@illinois.edu
Research topics: Emotions and affects in/as culture. Construction of National cultural identities.
Research keywords: Emotions-Culture-public sphere.

Elvira de Mejia

Department: Food Science
E-mail: edemejia@illinois.edu

Francina Dominguez

Department: Atmospheric Sciences
E-mail: francina@illinois.edu

Virginia Dominguez

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: vdomingu@illinois.edu
Research topics: Cultural politics; political and legal anthropology and history; race and radicalization; discourse(s); transnational U.S. studies
Research keywords: Racialization; Hegemony; the Caribbean

Anna María Escobar

Department: Spanish & Port, CLACS
E-mail: aescobar@illinois.edu

Augusto F. Espiritu

Department: History
E-mail: aespirit@illinois.edu
Research topics: Book mss: "In Defense of Spain: Resistance to American Empire in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines in the Twentieth Century", Article in progress: "Cultural Nationalism and Hispanism in Jorge Mañach, Antonio Pedreira, and Nick Joaquin" (For Casa de las Américas), Article in progress: Review essay on Latino/Caribbean and Filipino comparative studies (For American Quarterly)
Research keywords: Empire, transnationalism, and intellectuals

Gail Ferguson

Department: Human Development & Family Studies
E-mail: gmfergus@illinois.edu

Ricardo Flores

Department: Music
E-mail: flores@illinois.edu

Rebecca Foote

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: rfoote@illinois.edu
Research topics: The processing and production of Spanish agreement morphology, second language acquisition/processing/production
Research keywords: Spanish, bilingualism, language acquisition, psycholinguistic approaches, morphology

Eduardo Fradkin

Department: Physics
E-mail: efradkin@illinois.edu

Paul Garber

Department: Anthtopology, Emeritus Professor
E-mail: p-garber@illinois.edu

Marcelo H. García

Department: Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
E-mail: mhgarcia@illinois.edu

Philip García

Department: Agricultural Consumer Econ
E-mail: p-garcia@illinois.edu

Regina García

Department: Theatre
E-mail: rmg@illinois.edu

Richard Gates

Department: Agricultural and Biological Engineering, ACES
E-mail: rsgates@illinois.edu

Dara Goldman

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: degoldma@illinois.edu
Research topics: My work examines the persistent role of the national in a transnational and globalized world. As a result, I examine forms of literary and cultural expression that engage both the local and the translocal. My current scholarship focuses on topics such as Latin American detective fiction, music and mobility, gender in reggaetón, and the emergent blogosphere in Cuba. Current research titles include: "Something a Bit Queer: Hauntings, Havoc, and Hangovers in Leonardo Padura's La neblina de ayer." under review “Walk Like a Woman, Talk Like a Man: Ivy Queen's Troubling of Gender.” under review "Strange Days, Queer Values: Homosexuality and The New-and Improved Man in Contemporary Cuban Film." under review "The Wondrous Junot Diaz." Chicago Humanities Festival Blog. February 20, 2013. http://chicagohumanities.org/blog/guest-blog/dara-goldman-on-junot-diaz“ There’s (Always) Something About Cuba: Security and States of Exception in a Fundamentally Unsafe World.” SAQ 107.2 (2008): 339-54
Research keywords: National/transnational cultural expression, space, gender, movement/mobility, queer studies

Peter Goldsmith

Department: ACE
E-mail: pgoldsmi@illinois.edu

Glen Goodman

Department: Spanish and Portuguese
E-mail: ggoodman@illinois.edu

Gioconda Guerra Perez

Department: La Casa Cultural Latina
E-mail: gguerra@illinois.edu

Stacy Ann Harwood

Department:Urban and Regional Planning
E-mail: sharwood@illinois.edu

Wail Hassan

Department: Comparative and World Literature
E-mail: whassan@illinois.edu

Ricardo Herrera

Department: Music
E-mail: rherrera@illinois.edu

Marc Hertzman

Department: History
E-mail: hertzman@illinois.edu
Research topics: History of Samba, History of Slavery
Research keywords: Memory, Suicide, Capitalism

Geoffrey Hewings

Department: Geography
E-mail: hewings@illinois.edu
Research topics: Interregional impacts of tariff reductions (Colombia and Brazil) impacts of port efficiency (Brazil)impacts of bus rapid transit (Brazil) impacts of microfinance in Brazil and Colombia energy-envionmental-economic modelinghousehold consumption heterogeneity
Research keywords: Regional and interregional modeling under conditions of limited information

José Hualde

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: jihualde@illinois.edu

Tania Ionin

Department: Linguistics
E-mail: tionin@illinois.edu
Research topics: Second language acquisition, experimental linguistics semantics
Research keywords: Second language acquisition, articles experimental linguistics semantics, quantifier scope

Nils Jacobsen

Department: History
E-mail: njacobse@illinois.edu

John Tofik Karam

Department: Spanish and Postuguese
E-mail: karam@illinois.edu

Peter Kuchinke

Department: Education Policy
E-mail: kuchinke@illinois.edu

Eduardo Ledesma

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: eledes1@illinois.edu
Research topics: Experimental Poetry, Experimental and Documentary, Film, New Media Literacies Intersection, Technology and Culture, Disability Studies and Technology
Research keywords: Film, New Media, Experimental Literature

Yu-Feng Lin

Department: Civil and Environmental Engineering; IL State Geological Survey
E-mail: yflin@illinois.edu

Joseph Love

Department: History
E-mail: j-love2@illinois.edu

Mireya Loza

Department: Latina/Latino Studies
E-mail: mloza@illinois.edu

Lisa Lucero

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: ljlucero@illinois.edu

Angela C. Lyons

Department: Agricultural & Consumer Economics
E-mail: anglyons@illinois.edu

Korinta Maldonado

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: korintam@illinois.edu

Martin Manalansan IV

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: manalans@illinois.edu

Benito Mariñas

Department: Civil and Environmental Engineering
E-mail: marinas@illinois.edu

Cameron McCarthy

Department: Education Policy
E-mail: cmccart1@illinois.edu

Eric McDuffie

Department: History, African Studies
E-mail: emcduffi@illinois.edu

Mariselle Meléndez

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: melendez@illinois.edu
Research topics: The Enlightenment, issues of space, race, gender and cultural identity.
Research keywords: Enlightenment, port cities, cultural geography

Faranak Miraftab

Department: Urban & Regional Planning
E-mail: faranak@illinois.edu

Isabel Molina-Guzmán

Department: Media and Cinema Studies 
E-mail: imolina@illinois.edu

Silvina Montrul

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: montrul@illinois.edu

Ellen Moodie

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: emoodie@illinois.edu
Research topics: Violence, crime, middle class, youth, narrative, epistemology, anthropology
Research keywords: Violence, class, narrative

Luz Murillo

Department: Curriculum & Instruction
E-mail: lmurillo@illinois.edu
Research topics: Critical ethnography, Language and literacy, Transnational literacies, Transborder literacies, Border thinking
Research keywords: Critical ethnography Border thinking Subaltern knowledge

Stephen Nesbitt

Department: Atmospheric Sciences
E-mail: snesbitt@illinois.edu

Cynthia Oliver

Department: Dance
E-mail: coliver@illinois.edu

Hayri Onal

Department: Agricultural and Consumer Economics
E-mail: h-onal@illinois.edu

Andrew Orta

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: aorta@illinois.edu

Stephen Parente

Department: Economics
E-mail: parente@illinois.edu

Marilyn Parsons

Department: Curriculum and Instruction
E-mail: marilynj@illinois.edu

Amy Powel

Department: Krannert Art Museum
E-mail: alpowell@illinois.edu

Surangi Punyasena

Department: Plant Biology
E-mail: spunya1@illinois.edu

Allyson Purpura

Department: Krannert Art Museum
E-mail: purpura@illinois.edu

Marcela Raffaelli

Department: Human Development & Family Studies
E-mail: mraffael@illinois.edu
Research topics: Current grants/projects focus on: 1. Understanding Street Children in Brazil to Improve Intervention, 2. Building Collaborations to Study Vulnerable Brazilian Youth and Families, 3. From Genes to Environment: An Analysis of the Risk Factors Associated with Metabolic Disease and Insulin Resistance among Adolescents and Young Adults in San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Research keywords: Risk and resilience; families; ecological models

Felisa Reynolds

Department: French
E-mail: felisavr@illinois.edu

Jesse Ribot

Department: Geography & Geographic Information Science
E-mail: ribot@illinois.edu

Chance Riggins

Department: Crop Sciences
E-mail: cwriggin@illinois.edu

Gilberto Rosas

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: grosas2@illinois.edu

Richard Ross

Department: Law
E-mail: rjross@illinois.edu
Research topics: Currently working on an edited volume: Native and Settler Law as Counterpoints in British and Iberian America
Research keywords: Legal history; comparative

Sandra Ruiz

Department: Latina/Latino Studies
E-mail: sandruiz@illinois.edu

Sepideh Friberg Sadaghiani

Department: Psychology, Cognitive Neuroscience
E-mail: sepideh@illinois.edu

Ken Salo

Department: Urban & Regional Planning
E-mail: kensalo@illinois.edu

Carla Santos

Department: Recreation, Sport and Tourism
E-mail: csantos@illinois.edu

Mauro Sardela

Department: Seitz Materials Research Lab
E-mail: sardela@illinois.edu

Mahir Saul

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: m-saul@illinois.edu

Norma Scagnoli

Department: Business
E-mail: scagnoli@illinois.edu
Research topics: Online Pedagogies, Management of elearning projects/programs, Qualitative methodology
Research keywords: Online, elearning, qualitative, design

Daniel Schneider

Department: Urban & Regional Planning
E-mail: ddws@illinois.edu

Andiara Schwingel

Department: Kinesiology & Community Health
E-mail: andiara@illinois.edu

David Seigler

Department: Plant Biology
E-mail: daveseig@illinois.edu

Ryan Shosted

Department: Linguistics
E-mail: rshosted@illinois.edu

Helaine Silverman

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: helaine@illinois.edu
Research topics: World Heritage and the Built Environment in Cuzco, Peru; World Heritage, Tourism and Economic Development in Critical Perspective, Cultural Heritage and Identity in Historic Urban Centers
Research keywords: Cultural heritage, tourism, UNESCO, World Heritage, historic urban centers, Peru, global

Michael Silvers

Department: Music
E-mail: msilvers@illinois.edu

Gisela Sin

Department: Political Science
E-mail: gsin@illinois.edu

Douglas C. Smith

Department: School of Social Work
E-mail: smithdc@illinois.edu

Patrick Smith

Department: Curriculum & Instruction
E-mail: phsmith@illinois.edu
Research topics: Biliteracy and Human Capital, Dual Language Education and Human Capital, The language and literacies of Border Colonias
Research keywords: Biliteracy, Border Colonias, Dual langage education, Human Capital, Transnational literacies

Gabriel Solis

Department: Music
E-mail: gpsolis@illinois.edu

Sixto Clodoaldo Soto

Department: Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
E-mail: s-soto3@illinois.edu

Antonio Sotomayor

Department: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
E-mail: asotomay@illinois.edu
Research topics: Olympic Movement, sport and recreation, identity politics, nationalism and national identity, religion, colonialism, decolonization.
Research keywords: National identity, nationalism, sports, Olympic Movement, colonialism, decolonization, identity politics, religion.

Monika Stodolska

Department: Recreation, Sport and Tourism
E-mail: stodolsk@illinois.edu

Andrew Suarez

Department: Animal Biology
E-mail: suarez2@illinois.edu
Research topics: Ant ecology, behavior and morphological evolution.The study of biological invasions.
Research keywords: Biological invasions, ant ecology, behavior

Kasia Szremski

Department: Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
E-mail: szremski@illinois.edu

Karen Tabb Dina

Department: Social Work
E-mail: ktabb@illinois.edu

Margarita Teran-Garcia

Department: Food Science & Human Nutrition
E-mail: teranmd@illinois.edu

Joyce Tolliver

Department: Spanish & Portuguese
E-mail: joycet@illinois.edu
Research topics: 'El color nacional': Race, Nation, and the Philippine Ilustrados. El heroísmo del escritor: Unamuno, Rizal, y el heroísmo incorpóreo. Family Troubles: Spain and the Philippines in the Late Modern Empire. Politics and the Feminist Essay in Spain.
Research keywords: Empire, postcoloniality, Philippines,narrative,gender & sexuality, translation

Angharad Valdivia

Department: Media and Cinema Studies
E-mail: valdivia@illinois.edu

John Vazquez

Department: Political Science
E-mail: vasqueja@illinois.edu

Oscar Vazquez

Department: Art History
E-mail: oscarv@illinois.edu

Edna Viruell-Fuentes

Department: Latina/Latino Studies
E-mail: eviruell@illinois.edu

Norman Whitten

Department: Anthropology
E-mail: nwhitten@illinois.edu

Kathleen Williams

Department: Library & Info Science
E-mail: katewill@illinois.edu

Liliane Windsor

Department: School of Social Work
E-mail: lwindsor@illinois.edu

Matthew Winters

Department: Political Science
E-mail: mwinters@illinois.edu
Research topics: Foreign aid allocation; foreign aid effectiveness; governance; corruption; political behavior; voting
Research keywords: Corruption; governance; political behavior; foreign aid; development

Ann-Perry Witmer

Department: Engineering
E-mail: awitmer@illinois.edu

Cara Wong

Department: Political Science
E-mail: carawong@illinois.edu

David Wright

Department: English
E-mail: wright3@illinois.edu